14th International Conference of Sociocybernetics,
Universidad Pontificia Bolivariana, Medellin, Colombia, June 20-24, 2017

Call for Proposals:
The 14th International Conference of Sociocybernetics will be held next year in Medellin, Colombia. The Conference wants to bring together researchers from different disciplines to explore the challenges and opportunities related to the complex relationships between societal innovation and social conflicts. We invite the submission of proposals. Topics may include:

  • Conflict resolution
  • Culture clash and systemic change
  • Cybercultur@ and knowledge communities
  • Innovation systems
  • Innovation vs. Tradition
  • Media, protests and political action
  • New forms of social organization
  • News production, circulation and consumption
  • Privacy, control and surveillance
  • Simulation and computational social science
  • Sustainable Development

Proposal submission:
Abstracts should be sent in English. Please submit an Abstract of 200-300 words together with an extended abstract of 750-1000 words (including references) for review purposes. The former will be published in the RC51 Newsletter, included in the abstracts booklet made available to conference participants and published as part of the conference programme on the RC51 website.

The Abstract only should include information about the author(s): names, affiliations, email addresses and three (3) keywords. Both abstracts should be sent to the Head of the Abstracts Committee José A. AMOZURRUTIA (, with copy to the RC51 Secretary Patricia E. ALMAGUER ( Selected papers will be published in a special issue of the Journal of Sociocybernetics.

Important Dates:

  • March 13, 2017: Abstract Submission deadline
  • March 31, 2017: Notification of acceptance, with possible request for revisions
  • May 15, 2017: Full paper Submission deadline
  • May 22, 2017: Registration deadline
  • June 20-14, 2017: 14 th International Conference of Sociocybernetics, Medellin, Colombia

International Scientific Committee

  • Patricia E. ALMAGUER / México-España /Chair
  • Saburo AKAHORI / Japan
  • José A. AMOZURRUTIA / México
  • Juan C. BARRÓN / México
  • Eva BUCHINGER / Austria
  • Fabio GIGLIETTO / Italy
  • Margarita MAAS / México
  • Chaime MARCUELLO / España
  • Bernard SCOTT / United Kingdom
  • Toru TAKAHASHI / Japan
  • Michael PAETAU / Germany

The complete CALL FOR PROPOSALS can be downloaded here!